Words

I don’t claim to be a writer, but I do have the urge to write. Ever since I could string letters together I have been drawn to the written word. As a girl books were my constant companions. They helped me make sense of the world around me. I studied literature for my bachelor’s. And I still take refuge in words, but now mostly in the form of journaling. Writing my thoughts down helps me process my experiences and find meaning in them. It also helps cut down on the ruminating that goes on in my head. I can get stuck in my mind and at times it feels like my thoughts are spinning around and around as if stuck on a hamster wheel. Writing doesn’t always make it stop but it always help slow it down.

I’ve had some major changes in my life in the last couple of years. I became a mother and then after spending the better part of a year being sick I found out I was bipolar. Each of these experiences have brought their fair share of worry and doubt, but writing has been a way for me to grasp the changes in my identity in a positive way. I have also sought wisdom in the words others have written about their personal experiences with motherhood and with bipolar. Each testimonial has helped me, whether it be with the presentation of a new idea, the challenging of a old idea, or even a different perspective to help me cope with difficult emotions. I post here and there on my social networks about my experiences, but never with anything too revealing. What strikes me are those times that someone says what I posted was helpful to them. It let me know that I had something worthwhile sharing; something people can put to use in their own lives.

That’s my goal with this blog. I want to write what I know with the hope it puts words to the thoughts and feelings others are experiencing; to help them carry on with a better frame of mind. I read that starting a blog is one of the best things you can do for yourself even if no one reads it. So, even if this isn’t read, it’s okay, it is still a voice added to the human experience.

4 thoughts on “Words

  1. It’s good to find your blog! After I had a baby, I was diagnosed with postpartum bipolar disorder. I had been a freelance writer for years before that happened, and I was compelled to write about the experience. My memoir “Birth of a New Brain – Healing from Postpartum Bipolar Disorder” is coming out in October.

    Blogging has been a wonderful experience for me, and I hope it is for you too! I think you have a great attitude going into it.

    I look forward to reading your next post.

    Take care,

    Dyane

    p.s. You might want to check out these three blogs by moms with bipolar:

    Kitt O’Malley

    https://kittomalley.com/about/

    Cassandra Stout – The Bipolar Parent

    cassandrastout.wordpress.com

    Become Mum

    https://becomemum.com

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.