Video

A Song for Today

Last night Baby Boy and I had a rough evening while Hubs worked on our A/C unit. Baby Boy wouldn’t eat dinner, he fussed and fussed, he continues to refuse a sippy cup and will only drink his milk in a bottle. Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera… It all made me feel like I was going to explode and then of course after I put him down for bed I felt guilty for being so short tempered and cried on Hubs when he finally came in for the evening. And then I woke up still low today. I had to drag myself out of the bed. I cried on the way to daycare. I was late to work. A million thoughts are running through my mind telling me I’m deficient; that I’m simply not good enough. All this when I just thought I was in the clear. It’s been a month since my last mood disturbance so I let myself think I was “better.” I pray this is just a blip in the radar. Maybe I just need a really good night’s sleep, after all, it’s been three nights in a row that my sleep has been disrupted.

But until I feel myself again, I have to put on “the mask.” I’m a supervisor, and supervisors aren’t allowed to be this way in front of their staff. My direct reports don’t know I have a mood disorder so they probably think I’m crazy, never knowing what to expect…

I’ll leave you with a song. It came up on my playlist this morning on the ride into the office. The feelings it conveys perfectly reflects my state this morning.

4 thoughts on “A Song for Today

  1. In every job I’ve had, I’ve had to put on “the mask” – it’s SO hard to do that, and I admire you for showing up to work. (Just getting out the door, especially when you need to drop off your little one @ daycare, is difficult enough as it is. )

    Please give yourself lots of credit for all you’re doing despite this “blip” which will pass. Hopefully you’ll get better sleep tonight – that will make a huge difference!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Dyane, thanks for the pat on the back. 🙂 I’m happy to say that after talking to a trusted colleague who knows about my bipolar, and focusing on getting some work done, I’m feeling better. It was a blip, and tonight I will be prioritizing sleep.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry that you had a rough go of it last night! It’s so difficult to keep our tempers when the little ones are fussing. Best of luck with your AC unit and prioritizing sleep tonight!

    Like

Comments are closed.