Four Week Fitness Update

My fitness goals for the past four weeks included: walking 15-30 minutes three times a week, drinking water in place of soda (including diet soda), not eating after 7pm, and lose a pound a week.

I met none of those goals. Instead, I gained 7.5 lbs.

Here were some of my strategies and pitfalls.

Walking – The first hurdle to walking is simply going. I tried switching my walks from the evenings after work to during the day as a lunch break. I think this is a good strategy because by the time I get home in the evening, I don’t feel like walking at all. I had a little success with switching to a day walk but I need to make it more consistent. This means bringing a gym bag to work and making this a regular item on my agenda so I actually get this done.

Soda – It’s really hard to say no to diet soda when Hubs keeps it in the fridge all the time. I really need self-discipline for this one. I also need to change this from a negative (no soda!) to a positive (more water!). Instead of just saying no soda I’m making the attainable goal of no soda for 28 days – four weeks.

No eating after 7pm – This should be easier than it is. Baby Boy is done eating by 7pm anyway so once he’s done I really shouldn’t be in the kitchen. This is such an easy one to do.

Emotional Eating – I noticed this past four weeks just how much I was eating my emotions. Whether it’s sadness, stress, or happiness I’m eating. I will be discussing this particular bad habit with my therapist at my next session. I’ve seen what happens when a person eats just because of how they feel and it’s not something I want to continue doing so something I think that will help with that is to go back to counting calories. It will help me stay focused on what I’m putting into my body and help me choose foods that will keep me fueled.

I’m adjusting my fitness goals for the next four weeks: walk 15-30 minutes 3 to 5 times a week, use the rowing machine for 30 minutes 1 to 3 times a week, no soda for 28 days, no eating after 7 pm, and lose a pound a week.

 

 

One thought on “Four Week Fitness Update

Comments are closed.